Microformats Added

I knew that microformats were easy to implement, but the tagging microformat has to be the easiest by far. Any who, all hashtags are now marked up with microformats.

<a href="/tag/hashtags/" rel="tag">

  1. Cool. Nanoformats to microformats.

    Motivated by this, I’ve just added hashtag recognition and microformat markup to the Twitter area of http://premasagar.com

    Hmmm… thinking about other nanoformats to support.

  2. I think there’s another very interesting possibility for hashtags which answers a growing need on realtime blogging / microblogging platforms like Twitter. Now that I’m following people from nearly every timezone in the world I’m wishing more than ever that there was a single timezone-neutral reference point for coordination of future events.

    For instance, when one of my friends in Australia (I’m in Ireland myself) tweets that they’re about to start live video streaming some event they’re attending at 1pm, I need to first remember that they’re in the AEDT timezone then convert that to GMT. Alright for one friend once per day, but not for dozens numerous times per day. Horribly messy. So last century.

    Now recall that the watch maker Swiss Swatch tried to solve this kind of problem a decade ago with “Swatch Internet Time” (SIT) and the idea of dividing the day into a thousand “beats”. The notation used to reference a SIT time is @. So @999, for instance, is the same time everywhere in the world.

    When I first blogged about this today I made the mistake of saying that I’d like to revive SIT. It’s a mistake because a universal time reference shouldn’t be tied to a single commercial brand. So how about using hastags instead? Instead of tweeting “I’m about to do such and such @059″, how about tweeting “I’m about to do such and such at #059″.

    Instead of calling it Swatch Internet Time we could just call it “hashtime”. Instead of saying “I’m going to do something at 270 beats”, why not say “I’m going to do something at hash270″.

    I can imagine at least one huge benefit if this convention were widely adopted – we could build Twittervision like service for scanning what people are *intending* to do at certain times of the day. For instance, if I wanted to record a Skype conversation among four friends in different timezones at some time tonight, I could just propose a time of #0830 and my friends could easily see if that clashes with anything else on that hashtag (for their group of friends).

    The advantage of stick with 1000 time divisions per day and the Swiss meridian is that you could, in order to bootstrap the efffort, use the downloads from the Swatch website for tracking ‘hashtime’

  3. @James – Doesn’t UTC do the job already? For example, “1pm UTC”, “13:00 UTC”, or simply, “13”.

  4. tasten humiliation linguopapillitis articulated grimp metascutellum remount boozily
    Tricia Knowles
    http://www.gabnet.com/lit/demoh10.htm

  5. I can see this is a very good move but I don’t understand the implementation at all. Any pointers to a more verbose page?

    As I’m also in rural ireland where we don’t have any postcodes I have an interest in Geohash and an adoption within Hashtags and/or twitter seems like an excellent idea.

    All the best Dave –

    From http://geohash.org/gc0vg2x6uw5t
    At #1135🙂

  6. While I love the idea, I fear it would only be used by early adopters and never adopted widely enough to gain traction.

    UTC (Coordinated Univesal Time) is globaly accepted and most people (maybe not Americans) can calculate their local time from UTC. I wish most people would add their timezone to time stamps. e.g. as I write this it is 1201 AEDT (UTC+11)

  1. 1 Von #hashtags zu rel-tags at notizBlog - a private weblog written by Matthias Pfefferle

    […] #hashtags verwendet für seine Tags jetzt das rel-tag Microformat. # […]




Leave a Reply

